jump to navigation

Okay, THAT’S IT! No More Windows! Friday, June 6, 2008

Posted by Dick in The Truth.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I have had it. Windows is history.

From now on, I am going to migrate from the corporate-controlled hell hole that Windows has boxed me inside, and going F.O.S.S.

What is F.O.S.S.? It’s the new thing. It’s Free / Open Source Software and it’s the way I’m going.

Instead of Micro$oft Windows, I’m going with Ubuntu, a very popular Linux distribution that is very user-friendly and beats Windows hands-down as far as usability, appearance, and functionality goes.

What caused this? Well, the BSOD: Blue Screen Of Death. I got it while… get this… downloading a file. That’s right, it crashed twice because of the same thing. An operating system shouldn’t crash because of a problem downloading a file. Let alone twice. Let alone AT ALL.

I figure if I’m migrating operating systems, I might as well migrate everything from commercial software (most of which is pirated anyway) to FOSS. There is an Open Source alternative to nearly every single commercial program.

Instead of M$ Office, one can go with OpenOffice.org or KOffice, both of which include programs that Office doesn’t even include. Instead of Dreamweaver, there are programs like Mozilla Seamonkey, Aptana (my personal choice), and Quanta Plus, all of which are FOSS. Instead of Photoshop, there’s GIMP. Instead of Illustrator, there’s Inkscape.

You get the picture.

Everybody should do this. These Open Source alternatives aren’t that much harder to learn than their commercial counterparts, so there shouldn’t be a problem. I’m even thinking of writing up a little manual about migrating to FOSS completely.

Ubuntu offers a free CD that lets you boot from it and test drive the OS before diving head-first into it. There are also dual-boot programs that let you install Ubuntu alongside Windows so you can try it out fully before installing it over Windows.

In fact, I want to back everything up on my humongous external hard drive, format my hard drive completely (fixing any errors that may exist in the process) and install Ubuntu on a fresh and empty hard drive. I want to start from scratch software-wise.

Oh, yes… there will be blood. But it will be worth it.

Comments»

1. Alfred M - Saturday, June 7, 2008

I support FOSS, but be ready for the learning curve that comes with trying to work your way around little things. Your productivity if you are using the design applications will dip for a while, but that’s part of the adventure. I see a bright future for FOSS on the whole though.

2. Dick - Saturday, June 7, 2008

Oh, I’m ready for the learning curve. I thrive on learning. I welcome the challenge! šŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

