jump to navigation

Stand Up to Wal-Mart! Look Suspicious! Break the Rules! Monday, May 19, 2008

Posted by Dick in Anti-Idiot.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Yeah! Rules are meant for pansies and push-overs!

Stand Up To Wal-Mart is a joke. Most of the stories on that site are from people who bitch and moan about being stopped and asked for their receipt. So? What’s the big deal? Show them your receipt and be done with it!

One lady had a baby that was crying and just wanted to leave. So why make matters worse and drag the process out by being defiant and stubborn? I really don’t see the problem in just acquiescing and letting them see your precious receipt. They look it over, make sure everything looks kosher, and you’re on your way.

Seriously, these people act like it’s some big deal, like they’re being criminalized by the big corporate bad-guys. They complain that they can’t be detained. Well, just do one simple thing and they won’t think you’re a thief! Do you realize how suspicious it is to refuse to show your receipt, something that takes all of 5 seconds?

You know, at first glance of the site, I was so glad to see another anti-retail movement, much like the Home Depot Sucks site. But then I looked at the stories and realized just how thick-headed and petulant most consumers can really be.

There is even this one story about a guy who set off the alarms and then refused to show his receipt to the employee. I mean, come on now, how ridiculous is that? The average rational person does not question a place of business that he is exiting because he set off their alarms.

These people act like they have some right to act highly suspicious. I used to work for retail and, believe me, we had every right to question customers that had just left and set off our alarms. If they left without stopping for us after setting off alarms, we would call the police and get their license plate numbers down.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this practice, despite what many immature consumers may believe.

If you’re going to lambaste Wal-Mart for something, focus on their shitty treatment of employees, their lack of helpfulness (or existence) when help is needed, their poor layout or upkeep of the store itself, or maybe even their lack of policy notification. Anything but a long-standing policy that spans nearly every retail outlet and is perfectly valid and reasonable.

I leave you now with a quote from the right sidebar of the site, from some moron who thinks rules somehow don’t apply to him:

I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do.

Good luck in life, buddy.

Comments»

1. ablestmage - Sunday, March 29, 2009

I hadn’t seen that site before, but goodness gracious. It takes like an entire additional muscle movement out of my way to just tuck the receipt in a coat pocket when putting my change away, to have available when I’m walking out the door. I’m utterly struck dumb as to how this could even remotely be considered within the realm of injustice.

2. ladyholdem - Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Ive never seen the site, i’ve been stopped and have minded, and have been stopped and not minded. It’s really kind of hard to get to mad at the old woman that asks you to see your reciept, she’s probly someone’s gramma…

But I do have five kids, and I probably shoved that stupid reciept God knows where, and I was already frustrated by the way my kids acted in the overly long crazy line, where all the candy was that I told them they couldnt have. Then the little one got board, because the line’s usually 20 minz +.

Then I’m finally freeeee! I shove the money into a pocket, the inside of my bra, my jacket? OMG where did I put it.. My cheeks start to flush.. my kids are again misbehaving, because that’s what kids do in chaotic environments, especially when they realize that even their mom is flustered… on those days, i freaking mind.

I think though, that had the clerk reminded me riiiiight before i shoved that receipt into the bag on top next to my purse…. that I’d need to show it at the door like they do at Costco. Then I probably wouldn’t mind to much ;).

3. Joe - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Dick- before I swip that quote who is the author.
Thanks Joe

Dick - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

I don’t know, and I can’t find out anymore. They changed the site to an empty blog and there’s nothing there anymore.


Leave a Reply

